You're not the boss of me

Sigh. There are people who, when they read the new Animal Ordinances, their only reaction is “don’t tell us what to do with our animals!”.

When I read comments like that, immediately what goes off in my head is the “Malcom in the Middle” sitcom theme song “You’re not the boss of me, now, You’re not the boss of me”. Remember how bad those kids were? How they defied their parents all the time? What messes they made (I loved the show!) I imagine someone who has Oppositional Defiance Disorder. They don’t want anyone telling them what to do ever. They’ve got it all figured out.

From my observation of these folks, they basically only care about themselves. They have no concept of greater good. Good is what suits them at that time. Their minds are so limited that they see themselves and their small world, but they can’t see anything from any perspective but their own.

Give me a break. We’re not telling you what to do with your animals. We are establishing boundaries on what care is expected of an owner. We are establishing a set of regulations that control activity and set penalties if you don’t follow them. These actions are no different than any other behavior that is regulated in Dallas. Your grass can’t be too high. You can’t play your music too loud. You can’t set up a meth lab in your bathroom (I know, you can’t set up one anywhere).

We’re a group of people who share a community and resources. We’re a neighborhood. In that light, we have to compromise so that we can all enjoy our own lives. But don’t think for one minute that means you get to do whatever you want, whenever you want to whomever you want.

In the case of the ordinances, it’s about how a community spends its money. We want to stop spending money on killing animals. We want to control the animal (over)population. We want to avoid shelter workers experiencing depression and taking their stress out on their friends and family.

To me, it’s more than just that though. I think the ordinances speak for the voiceless animals. Their lives are impacted by the new ordinances. They will have an opportunity to live better lives, lives with less suffering and misery. That sounds good to me.

If you’ve not signed the petition yet, do so right now. It only takes a minute.

Now, brush your teeth and go to bed! And clean your room!

Comments are closed.

